Newborn Essentials

Untitled #14

 

As the arrival of Angelos has been creeping up on us, I made a short list of the necessary things I needed to get.  These were the bottom of the barrel essentials, as in, if I went into labor tomorrow these things at the very least needed to be at home when we returned. These are all items I either depended on with Romy or wished I would have had. As fun as it is to get every last baby gadget before the baby arrives, the truth of the matter is, newborns don’t need much so if you are looking for a short list of essentials these are what I recommend. (Below are my descriptions of items but above are links to wear you can actually buy these items.
A Place to Sleep: We were sleep failures with Romy. I am pretty much starting fresh with the sleep baby gear this time, trying to keep in my things that did and mostly didn’t work with Romy.  This is really where we spent most of our money. Ideally he would be an easy sleeper and I could just put him on his back, swaddled, flat, in his crib. HA! We didn’t want to buy another crib since we are hoping Romy will make the transition out of hers soon, and I didn’t want to invest in a super pricy bassinet that we could only use for a few months.  We had never bought a travel crib for Romy, so we figured we might as well go that route so that we will have one for overnights away with both kids. Here’s what we decided on:
The Guava Family Lotus Travel Crib: We bought the bassinet attachment, which is where (fingers crossed he will sleep for the first few months).  We chose this particular one because it’s super light (around 14 lbs), packs up super small (you can carry it as a backpack), and it has a cool little side door that might come in handy (Reminds me of Lola’s kennel, lol).
DockAtot: Romy couldn’t be in a wide open space without screaming, so in the event that this baby needs to feel snuggled we also bough the DockAtot. This can go in the bed with us (hoping to avoid), and easy to move all around the house.
Rock N Play: This was the only thing Romy would sleep in.  I am really hoping to avoid it, because not only are they snuggled, the are inclined, and I felt like it was one more thing to have to transition her out of when she got too big.  But I still bought one, because when you need sleep you need sleep and this is thing was a lifesaver. We can also just keep it as a place to set her downstairs.
Diapers and Wipes: Obviously. Romy has super sensitive skin and would get a rash with anything except Water Wipes.  They are literally just wipes, water and a tiny bit of grapefruit extract. A product you can feel safe using. As for diapers, as much as I love how cute Honest ones are Pampers have that yellow line that tells you when they pee, they are soft, and way more affordable.
Bottles and Pacifiers: Its a total first time parent move to go out and decide which bottle you will use and buy the entire kit. Seriously, buy one or two of a few different kinds. Romy wouldn’t really take any of them, but there was one brand she would sometimes take.  This go around I have a few Tommee Tippee left from Romy, one Doctor Browns, and I picked up one of these Comotomo Silicone Bottles.  They look super cool.  Hopefully Angelos thinks so too.  Same goes with Pacifiers.  I have soothies, nuks, and a handful of other ones Romy never used and I ordered these cool swedish ones to try this time. The Natursutten’s look awesome because they are totally eco friendly, bpa free, I don’t think they are even made out of actual plastic. Hoping he likes these.
Nursing: Nipple cream from word one is my plan of attack this time.  Hoping to avoid bleeding nipples, but when they did bleed last time, my nipple shield became my best friend.
Swaddles and burp cloths: Its all about the super soft bamboo swaddles.  Last time I used Aden and Anais, but this time Little Unicorns prints got me.  So far from what I have felt they are amazing. I am sticking with the Aden and Anais burp cloths this go around because once you are done with the burping stage they make the best bibs. They literally wrap all the way around them and have saved so many of Romy’s clothes.
Baby Carrier: This was one of the only items I really got a lot of use out of with Romy. Last time I had three different ones for different stages, that were gifts or hand me downs.  This time I invested in one that does it all. The Lilliebaby was great reviews and I love that it doesn’t need a newborn insert, which was super sweaty the last time.
Clothing: As fun as getting a ton of cute outfits is, I knew all I really need to survive the beginning were these two items. A sleeper gown.  In the middle of the night when having to change a million diapers the last thing you want to deal with is buttons.  Romy slept in her gowns every night, and I was happy to find a more gender neutral one. Kimono style t-shirts were also my life saver.  When they are so tiny and floppy it was a little intimidating having to pull shirts over their necks.  I always felt like I was going to break Romy. The kimono snaps make it so much easier for baby and mommy.
Leave a Reply

