2017 Resolutions

View More: http://tminspired.pass.us/ramona
Photo VIA

Resolutions aren’t for everyone.  I find them to be pretty divisive actually.  People are usually all about them, or very anti.  I fall under the first category, and generally have a lot of success with them.  There is just something about taking the time at the beginning of the year to reevaluate how things are going, and figure out what changes can be made to put you in a positive direction. It’s officially been 5 years since I’ve had a sip of diet coke, and I have 2012 to thank for that.

I generally set one or two large goals for the year, and then throw in a few small attainable changes I want to make in my day to day.

PRIMARY GOAL: SAVE & BUDGET

While 2016 was successful in getting Romy to sleep through the night and us getting pregnant with baby #2, it was not the year of savings.  Felt more like a year of fun and spending to be honest.

So this year we are all about having a very specific budget, where we can see exactly where all of our money goes.  I feel like with so many subscription services, auto debits, eating out, its’ so easy to lose track of how much you are really spending. Seeing it all written down really makes you reevaluate what your priorities are. Being that we will probably be spending more time at home with the new baby it should be easier to not spend as much.  We might as well take advantage of this time and try and make it a year of saving. 2018 can be our year of investing.

 

SMALL GOALS:

ORGANIZE PHOTO BOOKS: For 2015 one of my small goals was this as well.  Guess what? I just finished 2015 and started 2016.  It didn’t exactly work out as planned but I’m hoping if I can get 2016 done this week, then I can start 2017 next month, and just do it as the months go on, that way I’m not trying to do it all at once. AGAIN. Artifact Uprising is my go-to for pretty books, and I’m planning on having them on display in our family room.

MEAL PLAN:

This goal goes hand in hand with my budget, but I find if I can plan my meals for the week, and have certain nights designated as eating out days or dinner with friends days, my grocery shopping ends up being so much more cost effective.  Every time I walk into Trader Joes without planning ahead of time I end up buying way to much and we end up throwing away extra food at the end of the week.

TRANSITION FROM 1-2 WITH GRACE:

I’m going into having this second baby with a very different mind set than I did with Romy.  I am hoping to be able to let go of any expectations and try and be as “go with the flow” as possible. I am not setting any deadlines or timelines in my head about where I should be. I am not going to kill myself trying to exclusively breastfeed, and I am going into it knowing my days may be a hot mess- and being ok with it.  I am hoping with less commitments and expectations, this transition will be easier on me than it was the first time. I hope….

Are you setting any goals for yourself this year?  I’d love to hear what you are working on in 2017.

Leave a Reply

